emperor ashoka

Confusing Words in English Language. Free Reading..

Embracing Spreading Buddhism

Emperor Ashoka

Emperor Ashoka to a stable and peaceful emperor and he started patronising Buddhism.
Embracing Spreading Buddhism

It is said that after the battle of Kalinga was over, King Asoka went on a tour of the city. He could see nothing except burnt houses and scattered corpses. This was the first time in his life that Emperor Ashoka realized the consequences of wars and battles. It is said that even after he had returned to Patliputra, he was haunted by the scenes he saw in Kalinga. Even his queen, Devi, who was a Buddhist, left him after seeing the brutality at Kalinga.It was during this time that he embraced Buddhism under the Brahmin Buddhist sages, Radhaswami and Manjushri. After adopting Buddhism, Asoka started propagating its principles throughout the world, even as far as ancient Rome and Egypt. Infact, he can be credited with making the first serious attempt to develop a Buddhist policy.

A Talented Military Leader
Legacy of Ashoka
The Life of Ashoka the Great
Embracing Spreading Buddhism
Accession to the Throne
Early Life
Death of Ashoka
As Administrator
Ashoka the Terrible
Equality for All
More ...

Test your English Language
Play Hockey
The Worlds Most Impressive Bridges
Indoor Plant Care
Rules to play Flag Football
Amazing Halloween Makeup Ideas For Women
Worlds Deadliest Martial Arts
Search Tricks
Selfie Ideas
Shah Jahan