Rules to play Water Skiing
The law allows persons 12 15 years of age to operate motorboats of more than 15 HP if supervised on board by a person at least 18 years of age.California law requires there to be at least two persons aboard a boat towing a water skier the operator, and an observer 12 years of age or older. The towing of water skiers from sunset to sunrise is prohibited by state law. Local laws may also restrict skiing at certain times during the day and in certain areas.Water skis should not be operated in a manner to endanger safety of persons or property. Passing the towline over another vessel or skier, or navigating between a vessel and its tow is also prohibited by law.
Effective January 1, 2001, California law provides that any being towed behind a vessel must wear a Type I, II, III or V Coast Guard approved life jacket. Exceptions The law does not apply to performers engaged in professional exhibitions, official regattas, marine parades, or tournaments. Any person engaged in slalom skiing on a marked course, or barefoot, jump or trick water skiing, may instead wear a wetsuit designed for the activity and labeled by the manufacturer as a water ski wetsuit. However, for each skier who elects to wear a wetsuit, a Type I, II, III, or V life jacket still must be carried on board. Note Inflatable personal flotation devices are not approved for use while water skiing.Under California boating law, the display of a ski flag is mandatory to indicate a downed skier, a skier getting ready to ski; or a ski line, or similar equipment in the immediate area. The display of the ski flag does not in itself restrict the use of the water, but when operating in the area, boaters should exercise caution.Alcohol plays a significant role in serious boating accidents and fatalities. It is unlawful to water ski or operate a boat under the influence of alcohol or drugs.