durga puja

Confusing Words in English Language. Free Reading..

Nine Forms Of Durga

Durga Puja

Durga Puja festival marks the victory of Goddess Durga over the evil buffalo demon Mahishasura.
Nine Forms Of Durga

ShailputriThe first form of Durga, Shailputri, is the Daughter of the Himalaya Mountain. She is the quintessence of Mother Nature and is also referred to as Sati, the wife of Lord Shiva.

BrahmachariniThe second form of Durga is the one who performs penance. Goddess Parvati is just another form of Brahmacharini. She is depicted as a Devi, holding a rosary in her right hand and a Kamandal on her left.

ChandraghantaThe third form of Devi Durga, Chandraghanta, the radiant woman with golden hair, holds weapons in each of her ten hands, and a halfmoon on her forehead. She is the symbol of bravery and valor, and is a fiercer avatar of Goddess Durga.

KushmandaDepicted as a beautiful woman mounted on a lion, Goddess Kushmanda resides in the core of the sun. She created the entire universe in the shape of an egg and gave it life with her radiating smile. She is the fourth incarnation of Goddess Durga.

Skanda MataSkanda Mata is the fifth form of Durga. She is accompanied by her infant son Skanda or Karthikeya, who is the commander in chief of Gods in battle against demons. She is portrayed as a woman with bright complexion with three eyes and four arms.

KatyayaniKatyayani was the sixth form of Goddess Durga. The Rishi pined for a daughter in the form of a Goddess, which Durga graciously granted. As a result, Goddess Katyayani was born to the great Rishi Kata.

KalratriKalratri, the dark Goddess of the night, is depicted as a frightening woman with three eyes, with fire emanating from her nostrils and a long sword in her right hand. She is the seventh form of Goddess Durga and is also known as Shubhamkari the one who does good deeds.

Maha GauriMaha Gauri is the eighth form of Goddess Durga. She got this name when Lord Shiva cleansed her with water from the Ganges. She is portrayed in a white sari, riding a bull and is the embodiment of peace and tranquility.

SiddhidatriThe ninth form of Durga Maa seated on the lotus, is worshipped by all, including the Gods. She was blessed with supernatural powers Siddhis Mahima, Laghima, Prakamya, Anima, Prapti, Garima, Vashitva and Lishitya.

Durga Devi, the powerful Goddess, is worshipped in all her nine forms through Navaratri. In her different incarnations, Goddess Durga vanquishes all evil and showers wealth and prosperity upon her devotees.

Durga Puja in United Kingdom
Durga puja mantra
Countdown begins for Durga Puja celebration in West Bengal
Celebration of various type
India Celebrates Durga Puja
Durga Puja
Durga Puja in Middle East
Durga Puja Fast
Origin of the autumnal ceremony Sharadiya
Appearance of Durga
Creation of the sculptures
More ...

Test your English Language
Benefits of Guava
Munshi Premchand
Football Players
The Summer Vacation Tips
Crazy Things You Will Only Find In Japan
Gandhi Jayanti
Most Powerful Weapons In History
Most Precarious Places On Earth
Most Prettiest Faces In The World